One More Page Books

2200 N. Westmoreland Street, Arlington, VA 22213 * 703-300-9746 * Mon-Sat: 10 am - 8 pm; Sun: noon - 5 pm

Wednesday, December 2, 2009

And more...

Finished two advance reader editions of teen books that now go off to the real critic, my niece, who is a much more thorough and critical reviewer than I. There are both first books from these authors.

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver. Release date: 3/2/2010. Like Groundhog Day, but more serious. I liked it.
From publisher: "What if you only had one day to live? What would you do? Who would you kiss? And how far would you go to save your own life?"

"Samantha Kingston has it all: the world’s most crush-worthy boyfriend, three amazing best friends, and first pick of everything at Thomas Jefferson High—from the best table in the cafeteria to the choicest parking spot. Friday, February 12, should be just another day in her charmed life."

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson. Release date: March 2010. Very quick read and I liked it.
From publisher: "This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable."

...An observation after reading several teen books in succession -- there's a lot of death.

No comments: